Christmas in November!

No, my headline is not referring to Black Friday and/or Cyber Monday deals (though I will admit to breaking my game-buying ban thanks to Steam & The Walking Dead. Oh well, back on the horse). I mean I just played Sonic Generations for the first time.

What does that have to do with the Christian gift-giving event? That’s when I received the game, back in Christmas of 2011. It was one of 2 games I asked for (and received). The other was NBA 2K12, which I first played on May 23, 2012. So, it took me six months to play one of the games I got last Christmas, and almost a year to play the other. Not a very good track record. See why I started this project?

But Sonic Generations is pretty sweet so far. I only played maybe a half hour – long enough to go through the first two worlds both as new-ish and classic Sonic. I even liked the crazy 3D sections which will take up half the game. I put the voiceover on Japanese and turned on captions, just because I thought it would capture the vibe a little better.

I had the first two Sonic games back on the Genesis, and played a ton of both. Not sure if I beat either one without using the debug code, however. I ignored Sonic 3 and Sonic & Knuckles, but did catch Sonic CD – which became my favorite game of the franchise. It holds up pretty well on iPad, too. Maybe I oughtta go back and play Sonic 3 and Sonic & Knuckles one of these days, via the amazing Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection.

Leave a Reply

